Divine Solitaires

Diamond Anatomy

All the diamonds are unique in their own way but share the same basic structure. The structural features of a diamond determine its brilliance, proportions, and scintillation. Each part of its basic structure has a particular name. Understanding how these parts contribute to the diamond as a whole help one to choose the perfect stone.

The basic structure of a diamond consists of eight main parts namely table, diameter, crown, girdle, pavilion, depth, crown, and culet. Here’s a brief description of each part.

  • Diameter: If the width of the polished stone is measured from end-to-end, the diameter of the diamond is obtained.
  • Table: The table is the largest polished surface on the top of the diamond.
  • Crown: It is the top part of a diamond that extends from the table to the girdle.
  • Girdle: Girdle is the part of the diamond where the crown and pavilion of the diamond meet.
  • Culet: Culet is the small and pointed facet at the bottom of the diamond.
  • Pavilion: The bottom part of the diamond that extends from the girdle to the culet.

It is important to understand the anatomy of solitaire diamonds before choosing the right one to appreciate the intricacies of the diamond.